Pancakes (made from scratch!)

Let me start by saying this: I DID IT!

I have been trying to avoid buying pancake mix for a while.  I never understood why their were so many brand names in the supermarket.  Some add eggs, some only water. It was all too silly to me. So today I did it.  I made pancakes from scratch.  You wouldn’t believe how proud of my self I am.  (It’s a little absurd actually.)

Here’s the recipe I used.  I read tons on the web and came up with this one.  If its a little too thick add water tablespoon by tablespoon til a little thinner. 

This is one of only two pics I could get before the kids got to them

Ingredients

2 eggs
2 cups milk
2 TBS white vinegar
4 TBS melted butter
4 tsp vanilla
2 cups All purpose flour
2 TBS sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
oil for cooking

First:  In a small bowl beat eggs. Add milk, vinegar, melted butter and vanilla.  Mix well.
Second:  In a large bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
Third:  Add egg mixture to flour mixture mix ‘til smooth and let batter rest a five  minutes or so. 
Fourth:  Lightly with oil pan and wipe out excess.  Heat pan on medium heat.  
Fifth:  Pour 2 oz (¼C) of batter onto the pan. (Batter is thicker than store bought; you might have to spread out with a utensil)
Sixth:  Cook ‘til bubbles form. Turn over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. (Not too dark)
Seventh: Serve with a pat of butter on top and your favorite syrup.

(Makes about 18 medium pancakes)

One response to “Pancakes (made from scratch!)

  1. Yum! pancakes are a favorite in our house! I love serving them for dinner too.
    thanks so much for all the great Tweets 🙂
    -Liz

Leave a Reply

